County Election Boundaries

County Election Boundaries

You are invited to help shape a new pattern of electoral divisions that being developed for Essex County Council.

The Local Government Boundary Commission has decided that the number of councillors in Essex should be 77. This is a change from the current council which has 75.


The Commission wants to hear what residents and organisations think about their local area. The consultation on the proposals is currently underway and will run until Monday, 5 June.

The Commission, an independent body that draws election boundaries, is reviewing Essex to make sure councillors represent about the same number of electors, and that division arrangements help the council work effectively. It wants to be sure that its proposals reflect community ties and identities.

Have your say at