Library Closes for Elections on May 2

Library Closes for Elections on May 2

The library at the Mountfitchet Exchange will shut to the public next Thursday.

This is because the library will serve as a polling station for the election of Essex’s Police Fire & Crime Commissioner on May 2.

The library will next be open after the election on Saturday, May 5.

Voting at the Exchange will also affect the services provided by Peabody Trust and the Department for Work and Pensions next Thursday. The Parish Council office will. also be closed. Our staff will be working remotely and can be contacted by phone or email.

Peabody will now be running their advice drop-in session on this day next door at the TouchPoint building from 11am to 3pm.

Those who would normally attend a Universal Credit appointment at the Mountfitchet Exchange on a Thursday should contact the Department for Work and Pensions for details on alternative arrangements on May 2.

Village Polling Stations

Other than the Mountfitchet Exchange, there are three other polling stations in Stansted Mountfitchet:

Your polling card will tell you which one to caste your ballot at. Doors open for voting at 7am and close at 10pm.


The Mountfitchet Exchange, Crafton Green, Chapel Hill, Stansted

St John’s Church Hall, St John’s Road, Stansted


St Mary’s Church Hall, Birchanger Lane, Birchanger

St Mary’s CofE Foundation Primary School, Hampton Road, Stansted

Election Info

The election on May 2 is choose the next Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner for the county. The PFCC serves a four year term and are elected by the public. A Commissioner’s role is to ensure the policing needs of communities are met as effectively as possible and to oversee how crime is tackled in your police force area.

You can find out more about the role and the canidates at

Please note that you are now required under election laws to show a valid form of voter ID  when voting at a Polling Station.

For more information on what counts as a legitimate ID and other new voting regulations head to  the Election Commission